sign in for free to It's Tuscany, discover the beautiful territories of Tuscany, its products and its typical
Private entity
 Subscribe to the newsletter to receive offers on products and news from the territories
By submitting this form you agree to the processing of the personal data above, for the function of the requested service, the data will be protected according to the Decree n 196 of 30 June 2003 Legislative Decree No. 196 of 30/06/2003
 * By ticking the box you agree to  Terms and coditions  of It's Tuscany

Garfagnana is land dominated by majestic mountains and green valleys, rich of medieval castles and legendary bridges



To introduce visitors to Garfagnana, with its dramatic asymmetrical arches to do almost to portal is Ponte del Diavolo in Borgo di Lucca. According to legend it was built around the year 1000, by Satan himself. The villagers slyly did inaugurate a goat taking so Lucifer game which claimed the soul of those who would have crossed the bridge. Geographically the Garfagnana is situated in the province of Lucca, in an area between the Alps and the main chain of the Apennines.



Its history has left us a great number of small and picturesque villages to visit, the territory in fact consists of many villages dating back to the middle ages.

Reflecting the historical past even rougher of Garfagnana, long the subject of contention because of its strategic location between Lucca, Pisa, Florence and Genova fortresses and castles remain framed in its typical rural landscape, the most evocative are Fortezza di Montalfonso in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, the mighty Rocca di Verrucole in San Romano and Rocca di Cascio guarded by two large circular towers.



Typical products

In Garfagnana you can taste unique local products , obtained following old traditions. These include the "Farro IGP" of Garfagnana, the "Farina di Neccio DOP", a particular kind of maize called Formenton otto file, honey, tasty mushrooms, the "biroldo", humble salami produced with waste pork and "pecorino Garfagnana".



The Common Union Garfagnana is an union of municipalities in the province of Lucca, formed by: Borgo a Mozzano, Camporgiano, Barga, Careggine, Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Castiglione di Garfagnana, Fosciandora, Gallicano, Molazzana, Coreglia Antelminelli, Minucciano, Piazza al Serchio, Pieve Fosciana, Pescaglia, Bagni di Lucca, San Romano in Garfagnana, Sillano, Vagli Sotto, Vergemoli factories Giuncugnano e Villa Collemandina.


Typicality and traditions

Bagni di Lucca


Borgo a Mozzano



Castelnuovo di Garfagnana

Castiglione di Garfagnana

Coreglia Antelminelli

Fabbriche di Vergemoli






Piazza al Serchio

Pieve Fosciana

San Romano in Garfagnana

Sillano Giuncugnano

Vagli Sotto

Villa Collemandina

cipresso title
From the Territory